Lifting routine ok?

Options
2»

Replies

• Roadie2000
    Roadie2000 Posts: 1,801 Member
    Options
    I wouldn't really recommend compound lifts for beginners, keep it simple for a while. I hate machines but they are good for beginners because they can help teach you proper form.

Wait a minute ....Wha?

Compund lifts are just Squats, Deadlifts, Bench Press, Pull ups/Rows, Overhead Press

That should be the only thing any beginner is doing!

Edit to add: Now supersets would be something to add...after you got the form down ,and know your limits...
    Sorry, basic compound lifts are fine, but whoever posted the video about the squat press is reaching a little. Start with the squat and the overhead press, but wait until you're a little bit more experienced before you combine them.
  • crobl
    crobl Posts: 380
    Options
    personally, I'm not a fan of this program, but here's a disclaimer - I love to lift! I'm an athletic trainer, which means I deal with dumb athletes, and long hours...so here's a couple things I to get a short but intense workout

1. Compound lifts (ie. a squat press - here's an example - http://www.livestrong.com/video/5314-dumbbell-squat-press/)

2. Super sets - this keeps me from getting bored in the weight room and allows for less actual rest. For example if you do a set of bicep curls and then a set of tricep extensions, you can move straight into the next exercise because while your biceps are working your tris rest, and vice versa

3. active rest periods - on an arms/shoulder day for example, I will do 3 super sets of 8 or so lifts. However, in between my super sets I will do a super set of ab exercises. This still allows time for my arms to recover while still maintaining an elevated heart rate.

And if running is a concern...look into different forms of cardio. I really enjoy rowing, but swimming is also a great low impact form of cardio.

I hope this helps, and if you'd like some more help, feel free to ask!