Biking vs. Running

Options
omma_to_3
omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
I have been running for a few months now and have a high calorie burn measured via Polar FT7. Typically, In around 48 minutes I'll burn 584 calories. My average heart rate during a typical session is around 170. It's HARD work for me so the calorie burn makes sense.

Yesterday, I went biking for the first time in about 10 years. I biked with my kids (read: slowly) for one hour. We went just over 6 miles. My average heart rate was 135 and it said I burned 490 calories. Does that sound right? It just seems high because it wasn't nearly as difficult as running. I felt like I could have easily gone another 6 or more.

Replies

• omma_to_3
    Options
    Bump
  • artbkward
    artbkward Posts: 238 Member
    Options
    What is your resting heart rate?
  • contingencyplan
    contingencyplan Posts: 3,639 Member
    Options
    Depends on intensity. Could be right. Bear in mind that while bicycling you are periodically taking "rest" periods by coasting, whereas when running the only rest you get is when you stop.
  • omma_to_3
    Options
    My resting heart rate is between 64 and 70. Down from 84 in the last year!

Also, my supposed max HR is 183, but it's gotten up to 200 when running in the heat (not something I enjoyed LOL). On my usual runs, the max is anywhere from 183 to 194, depending on the heat and my speed.
  • omma_to_3
    Options
    There were some short, steep hills in there, but a lot of it was gentle rolling asphalt trails. On the steeper parts, my kids ended up walking up the hills, but I blame that on their yucky bikes LOL.
  • Wuggums
    Wuggums Posts: 339 Member
    Options
    That could be accurate. I'm surprised at how high my HR will get while biking. I have a resting HR of 60 and when I bike it can easily stay around 145-150, even though it feels like I'm not working very hard. In a typical 1 hour bike ride, where I ride about 15 miles, I burn about 600 calories.
  • paeli