Wife not losing weight and she's frustrated

Options
Since I'm an engineer I'll give this in bullet format:
- Wife is 28 years old - never had kids 5' 2" SW 149 CW 137 GW 120
- We both started monitor calories and exercise in January
- I have lost 24lbs she has been stuck at about 12 lb lost for 2-3 months now
- She eats between 1200-1500 calories a day - 90% healthy/fresh/unprocessed etc
- She works out for anywhere between 20 min-50 min most days - sometimes a bike ride, ripped in 30, tread mill - nothing crazy intense
- She stopped hormonal BC 2 months ago
- Her measurements are very very slowly decreasing

All in all she keeps getting frustrated because she's working very hard and by all accounts doing everything right. I suggested seeing a doctor today thinking maybe a thyroid issue - I read the symptoms list and they seem like something anybody could have...

Unless she's sitting at work eating twinkies that she's not telling me about we're kind of at a loss for what else is in our control to help her out - Are we on the right track with a doctor or can anybody relate that they just lost really really slowly?

Just trying to help her out

Replies

• sarahrbraun
    sarahrbraun Posts: 2,261 Member
    Options
    You don't say what kind of healthy food she is eating. If the eating plan she is currently using is not working, my next suggestion is to tweak it.

I busted my butt in the gym for 3 months, and only lost 7 pounds. The first week in May, I decided to cut my carbs down ( to under 100g a day. Normal is 250g or so a day). The first week I lost 4.8 pounds, and I have lost 1-1.5 pounds a week for the last 4 weeks for a total of 9.8 pounds in 5 weeks.
  • TinaBina313
    TinaBina313 Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    I would suggest that she goes to her doctor or a dietician. Anyways tell her to be proud of the 12 pounds its better than zero
  • AllTehBeers
    AllTehBeers Posts: 5,030 Member
    Options