Any suggestions for people who work odd shifts

Options
nene01pop
nene01pop Posts: 80 Member
Hi Ya'll...
I am new to this, as of TODAY... tracking everything I eat has been really time consuming, but I learned that I eat entirely all the wrong food, well duh, I am overweight... :noway: I am struggling tonight because I usually eat a meal at home with family before going to work at 6p.m. I wrote down everything I ate, and only had 44 cals left, :sad: and then 6 hours into my shift, I think I am starving... I am LOOKING for food. The closest thing to healthy in the machines were some sun chips... SO, I walked around the complex, then ate the chips with a bottle of water... now I am over my cal limit... but I still feel successful because if I hadn't been paying attention I would have had no telling how much sweet tea and other sneaky calorie foods...

My question is: any suggestions to help with a mid shift eating habits???????????

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• EstellaPNW
    Options
    Hi! I used to work swing and night shift years ago and I would pack fruits and veggies to snack on. (Btw, fruits are low glycemic carbs/low on the glycemic scale. Some would say no carbs at night, but ypu can decide on that one.) I also ate lean protein to fill me up. My routine was to do a workout before my shift to give me energy and then eat a well-rounded meal before work. I would eat my "dinner" at around 1-2 am and I kept it light. With your mid-shift nutritional needs, I would look at what you are eating before you go to work. I would suggest lean protein with your meals (whether animal-based or vegetable-based). This may keep you satisfied (as it does for me) until your next meal, in the morning in your case. Pack veggies and hummus, peanut butter, chicken breast, nuts, etc. for that mid-shift snack. Those are just my suggestions and things I pack/eat.

That's great you are walking around the complex, that will help burn some calories. Good luck and keep us updated! :)