When you have to make non-diet food for others...staying on

Options
Hey all,

This topic used to be my greatest deterrent to starting a diet...I'm a stay-at-home mom who cooks all the meals for my DH, teenage stepdaughter and 7-month-old son. DH and daughter are the exact opposite of "dieters", if you get my drift. They love rich food (bacon, heavy cream, cheese galore, starch heaven, etc.) and I'm a pretty great cook, so they can't get enough. I always used to think how in hell am I going to handle the stress of making separate meals AND not giving in to feeling sorry for myself for not being able to eat the wonderful, sinful stuff they get? (Putting them on a diet as well has never been an option, BTW. They'll just have to get to that point by themselves).

But so far it's worked out great...because I've discovered the secret to getting around temptation and feeling sorry for myself! Make them meals I don't particularly like, like smoked pork chops or meatloaf. I guess if you're the kind that doesn't dislike any food, you're screwed, but I still think my tip is key. Now at meals I sit across from them with my sensible portions of whole wheat pasta and roasted skinless chicken breast and feel so smug. :laugh:

Replies

• BrendaLee
    BrendaLee Posts: 4,463 Member
    Options
    Will you come over and cook for me? I'm the exact opposite of a good cook. :tongue:
  • mommy22
    mommy22 Posts: 16
    Options
    I just love to cook for others actually :laugh:
  • lose100
    lose100 Posts: 54
    Options
    I love to cook healthy, and my hubby, and his parents who I often invite to dinner don't even know the difference! So remember, there is always a way to make what looks hearty and unhealthy, actually healthy. I just substitute healthy ingredients. Just a thought if you ever want to get the rest of your family down the same road you are going. Good job by the way! Keep it up!

Mandi
  • Rdy2Lose128
    Options