Fire my trainer?

Options
OK, Ive been working out with a trainer since December 2011. I started at 220 and got down to 204 by March 2012. This trainer's focus was all weight resistence. We parted company because he left the gym for happier hunting grounds.
My current trainer is very concerned about my cardio. I admitt I go out of breath pretty quickly and that needs work. But its annoying to have a guy stand by the treadmill, eliptical, etc and just talk to me. There is some resistence training, but still with a cardio focus. I miss the lifting. I have also been advised elswhere on MFP that HEAVY LIFTING is the way to go.
Should I ditch my current trainer?
I'm 46, 5'6", 202, Consider myself sedentary with a desk job, My goal weight 160 (but strong)

Replies

• Polly758
    Polly758 Posts: 623 Member
    Options
    If you want to lift, then find a trainer who will train you in that.
  • bzgl40
    bzgl40 Posts: 69 Member
    Options
    how long have you been with this trainer? If a week or two I'd just ask him what the future plans are and how he sees this working on going and make a decision then. IMO though you have been working with a trainer for a long time and should have learned enough to work without a trainer. Are you using the trainer for motivation?
  • ATLMel
    ATLMel Posts: 392 Member
    Options
    This is completely external to the cardio vs. heavy lifting debate (although i love lifting heavy and have had more results in 3 months with than in 3 years of strictly cardio).

Your trainer is charging you money to hover near a treadmill. He should be making you a cardio plan to do on your own time. The sessions you have together should focus on exercises that he can help you with, like lifting. Plus, you've told him you want to lift....he should have you lifting if there are no contraindications in your health history.

Fire him.
  • jgic2009
    jgic2009 Posts: 531 Member
    Options