ASL

Options
bellyake3
bellyake3 Posts: 135 Member
American Sign Language (ASL)...is what I should have put as the topic..sorry about that :embarassed:

I went to my first Deaf community event last night and had a blast! I can honestly say I am intrigued by the culture as a whole. I'm currently taking ASL 1 at a community college here in San Antonio, and I can't get enough of it. I'm just learning, but I think I might want to see how far I can go.

Either way, I encourage everyone to look up Deaf events in your area and get to know your neighbors....even though I only know the basics they were patient with me and so inviting if your willing to learn....thanks and be well.

Replies

• Sockimobi
    Sockimobi Posts: 541
    Options
    I thought this was age, sex, location! :embarassed:

Good luck with the sign language!
  • Helloitsdan
    Helloitsdan Posts: 5,565 Member
    Options
    *kissfist Deaf ppl*
  • bellyake3
    Options
    lol..sorry...ASL stands for American Sign Language..and thank you tho
  • bellyake3
    Options
    *kissfist Deaf ppl*

^love this!
  • jppd47
    jppd47 Posts: 737 Member
    Options
    Just took ASL 1 as well. Im liking it

http://asl.ms/

great site to practice reading your finger spelling
  • Helloitsdan
    Helloitsdan Posts: 5,565 Member
    Options
    *kissfist Deaf ppl*

^love this!

I often run into Deaf kids in my store.
    The look on their face when I sign is priceless!
  • NikkiLS28
    NikkiLS28 Posts: 43
    Options
    I took ASL 1 last fall and LOVED it. I wish I had room in my schedule for this fall semester but I'm already packed in with 17 credits. My instructor made me promise to continue taking classes because I picked it up so quickly. I plan on keeping that promise! :)
  • bellyake3
    Options
    Just took ASL 1 as well. Im liking it

http://asl.ms/

great site to practice reading your finger spelling

Great, thank you!
  • bellyake3
    Options
    *kissfist Deaf ppl*

^love this!