Does this sound like a good workout?

Options
Hi! :) New to this place.

I recently got a gym membership and it seems to be working (6 lbs lost in 2 weeks after rapid weight gain for the last 6 months). However, as I am new to this full on exercising gig, I wonder if what I am doing is going to be effective for the long haul.

I usually go to the gym three days a week for about an hour and a half. That's about all the free time I have at the moment.

I start with 25 minutes on the bike - doing the cardio mode. It usually clocks me at about 9 miles in 25 minutes.

Afterwards, I do some strength training. First arms, then abs, then legs and then one more cycle through of each.

I finish it off with 20 - 25 minutes on the elliptical.

Any suggestions on how to mix it up? Or get an even more effective work out in?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• PhilyPhresh
    PhilyPhresh Posts: 600 Member
    Options
    Go to www.crossfit.com and follow along with the workout of the day and you'll be just fine ;)
  • MessyLittlePanda
    MessyLittlePanda Posts: 213 Member
    Options
    hiya, and welcome :)

if you want to mix it up a bit and maybe meet some exercise buddies I'd try a class if they offer them. I like to break up my workout routine with classes, I love Body pump for strength training and Zumba for fun.
  • Lkoblara
    Lkoblara Posts: 137 Member
    Options
    It's more than I'm doing and I'm seeing results. I'm pretty new to this stuff too. Sounds like you have a good routine going. When you get closer to your goal weight you may want to increase the weight training based on what I've been reading.

I wish I could afford a gym membership. I am saving up to get my own elliptical though :)
  • maggiestoecker
    Options