Advice on weights needed!!!

Options
tyroners
tyroners Posts: 113 Member
Hi been on this keep fit and loose weight for nearly a month now doing ok I think!!!
Fancy doing some weights as in arms legs, legs ok from cycling. any advice for a complete beginner will be welcome, thanks.

Replies

• wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    starting strength or stronglifts.

Cycling conditions more than it builds. Do the barbell squats. They help immensely with sprinting and climbing.
  • tyroners
    Options
    Starting weights sets and reps not done any before!
  • wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    Starting weights sets and reps not done any before!

starting strength and stronglifts are the names of the programs. Plug them into google. Pick one.
  • karylee44
    karylee44 Posts: 892
    Options
    if you want.. i can send you a list of what i do.. you are most likely alot stronger then i am .. so just up the numbers a bit..

i use machines right now.. and some free weights..
  • tyroners
    Options
    Nice one thanks
  • KStambulic
    KStambulic Posts: 131
    Options
    Here's a link to Starting Strength for beginners. I'm planning to follow something similar to this. :)

http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wiki/The_Starting_Strength_Novice/Beginner_Programs
  • strange_fella
    strange_fella Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    If you've not done anything before please don't feel I'm being cheeky by going from basics:

Stretching:
    If you're going to be lifting weights there are schools of thought that stretching can actually be detrimental to your lifting and that you should warm the muscles up with some cardio (such as Rowing Machine) or by performing the exercise you're about to do with a low weight.
    Between the two arguments I've always gone with the one that works for me, personally I perform the exercise with a low weight but that is personal preference.

Exercise: