Yoga/pilates - anyone found them any good?

Options
I've heard a lot about yoga and pilates and i know they are good for strengthening core muscles etc but i was wondering if anyone has found them effective for helping with weight loss?

I am a nurse so find it hard to fit in going to the gym around my shift pattern and i also have back problems so have to be careful with what i do. I have found that there is a pilates class weekly that i am able to do weekly. I also found a yoga dvd which i bought many moons ago and have never done. I gave it ago last night and actually really enjoyed it.

I was just wondering what everyone elses experiences were?

I have also found a couple of pilates DVDs online which are broken down in to 10 minute worksouts which would be easier for me to fit in to my day but just wanted some opinions before i buy!

Thanks!

Replies

• waldo56
    waldo56 Posts: 1,861 Member
    Options
    Workout programs like Yoga and Pilates don't get as big as they are and sustain it for as long as they have if they don't work.

Weight loss is created primairly by diet though. Exercise helps to make you healthier, feel better, and help you stick to your diet, plus it burns some calories.
  • morgansmom02
    morgansmom02 Posts: 1,139 Member
    Options
    I get sweaty, sweaty, sweaty when I do yoga and pilates! I feel like it is a good workout! Good for the muscles.
  • SuperSexyDork
    SuperSexyDork Posts: 1,669 Member
    Options
    I love Pilates! It's not exactly designed for weight loss but increasing/strengthening your muscles (especially your core). Also the more muscle mass you have, the more calories your body uses, thus increasing your metabolism.

Yoga helps me relax and a lot of people swear it will help you lose weight but I'm not so sure about the science behind that...
  • ktwest2107
    ktwest2107 Posts: 124 Member
    Options