drinking and weight loss

Options
Hi! I am fairly new to this, about 2 weeks in, and the eating healthier portions and healthier food has been going well so far. My main concern now is alcohol - I enjoy my wine, and have a glass or 2 almost every day. To me, this is as much part of my wind-down as reading the news and talking to friends/family on the phone - it's just simply not something I am willing to give up. So I guess my question is, what is the best possible alc beverage I could be having so as not to completely sabotage myself? Thank you!!

Replies

• erin023
    erin023 Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    I think the general rule is the more pure the alcohol, the fewer the calories.
    So maybe try a flavored vodka mixed with natural fruit juice or diet pop? (Yes, I know diet pop isn't good for you).
    I personally end up losing weight when I drink (even a little) because I end up being more active.
  • iuew
    iuew Posts: 624 Member
    Options
    work it into your daily calories.

as for lowest cal alcohol, i go with vodka / diet soda or vodka / diet cranberry juice. ocean spray makes some great diet juices.
  • McLifterPants
    McLifterPants Posts: 457 Member
    Options
    Honestly, a glass of wine a night won't kill you, as long is it's actually a "glass" (4-6 oz; about half full wine glass) and not a "GLASS" (half the bottle in a water glass). 6 oz of merlot is around 120 calories; chardonnay is more like 145. Just figure it in to your calories for the day and you'll be fine :)
  • redhousecat
    redhousecat Posts: 584 Member
    Options
    I always drink a beer or two after my runs.
  • Anna800
    Anna800 Posts: 637 Member
    Options
    When I drink at home I measure the amount of alchocol so it's exactly 5 oz. I also tried to limit my alcohol to once a week, I found that worked best with my goals. Sometimes that doesn't happen, but that is the aim.
  • DanaDark
    DanaDark Posts: 2,187 Member
    Options