For those that struggled with the last 10 lbs

Options
I've seen lots of talk about how hard it was (and how long it took) to lose the last 10 lbs. I have been wondering about this, is it physically harder to keep the deficit going since you are at a "normal" weight, or does the mental dedication wane? Or is it something else?

I'm curious to hear your thoughts and personal experience.

Replies

• T1DCarnivoreRunner
    T1DCarnivoreRunner Posts: 11,502 Member
    Options
    I'm not a doctor, but I believe it has something to do with the weight your body feels is optimal. Once you've reached your optimal weight (which is usually different from your "ideal" weight) your body will begin to retain calories again. For example, my doctor states that he wants to see me back down to 180, (I'm 6 feet tall) however when I hit around 190 my body simply refuses to let me shed anymore weight. My natural healthy balance is a muscular 190 pounds. From here, you have two choices. 1) Be patient and allow your body to begin shedding weight much slower at about 1/2 pound per week, or 2) go on a starvation diet.

I'm not convinced of this theory. For me, it has been difficult mentally more so than physically. It took 3 years to get to that last 10-15 lbs. and I've been stuck there for months. But for me, losing was very difficult as well - more difficult both physically (and mentally as a result of the physical difficulty) for the first 3 years. My rate of loss was 1/4 lb. per week on average, so 1/2 lb. per week would be spectacular! Despite allowing myself some occasional all-out cheat days during the initial weight loss phase (they became smaller and less often over time to from 3-4 times to only 1-2 times per year), I never have been able to get over the idea that I'm always hungry. The all-out cheat days may be happening less often, but the un-planned days where I'm 2K-8K calories over maintenance seem to have become more frequent.