weigh your oils and fats!

Options

Replies

• Christine_72
    Christine_72 Posts: 16,049 Member
    Options
    Do you use less with cooking spray than you do regular oil, I've never used the spray before
  • GothyFaery
    GothyFaery Posts: 762 Member
    Options
    Pam is your friend! 0 calories (per serving) and it cooks the food without sticking. I've even seen recipes that call for spraying potatoes with pam before roasting to help them brown without adding (many) calories.
  • Christine_72
    Options
    GothyFaery wrote: »
    Pam is your friend! 0 calories (per serving) and it cooks the food without sticking. I've even seen recipes that call for spraying potatoes with pam before roasting to help them brown without adding (many) calories.

Oohhh I'll take a look at that!
  • girlviernes
    girlviernes Posts: 2,402 Member
    Options
    It's not a waste. Oil is good for you. Just figure out the right amount, it doesn't take much. This is a trick to get accurate weight of oil/butter, put the container on the scale, tare, then put however much oil you want to use (e.g., 1 Tb), and then put the container back on the scale. The negative number will be the weight of the oil you used.
  • Qskim
    Qskim Posts: 1,145 Member
    Options
    Do you use less with cooking spray than you do regular oil, I've never used the spray before

Yes it doesn't need much. But also depends on what you are cooking. Sometimes I don't use the extra tbsp unless it's meat. I use the olive oil spray from woolies select brand.

I don't count it sometimes tbh (the spray - a lightly sprayed film) but if I add butter/oil I do. Using it with butter helps to stop butter from burning too fast as well and you don't need as much butter - the butter ends up being about added flavour.

I've noticed in the food data base that some have entered spray times for calorie count - 3 sec spray = x calories. God love em lol. Can't remember offhand what they are though.
  • segacs