Antidepressants - Experiences.. good or bad?

Options

Replies

• SkinnyMsFitness
    SkinnyMsFitness Posts: 389 Member
    Options
    Hi!

I saw this and 'had' to reply!!! I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder 5+ yrs ago - I deal with heightened anxiety 24/7/365. I'm glad that you're against medication!!! I'll tell you a little about my story.

First off, anxiety and depression disorders are sister disorders - literally - I studied a bit of psychology... But when I was diagnosed, the doctor put me on medication right away! I thought, okay, I'll give it a try... After 3 months of use, the pills were working, but I could tell they were losing efficiency. I talked to my doctor again and he wanted to increase the dosage and potency. That's when I quit!

My boyfriend was diagnosed with a depression disorder years ago and was on pills - which he swore didn't work so he's been managing without medication for 10+ yrs now. His mother, who has diabetes, parkinsons, and a few other health issues, has been on several pills for over 10 yrs now. Well, today, she has cirrhosis of the liver - b/c of the pills!

That being said, I've made the choice to deal with my anxiety issues medication free. Yes, some days are pretty difficult, but I've been dealing for some time now. I've learned that exercising helps counteract my feelings. I try to avoid stimulants (i.e. nicotine, caffeine, etc) b/c they can make it worse.

And try not to be harsh on your mom (or other loved ones) if they're recommending you to do something or just don't understand what you're going through. In my experiences, people that have not obtained higher education about mental illnesses and they do not have one seldom understand what you're going through.

Well, I guess you're not saying you have a depression disorder...do you think you do? Or are you just going through a rough place right now? Nonetheless, the tactics I listed should help you manage.

Good luck and take it easy!! :-)
  • BflSaberfan