Protein

Options
Hi all. I'm new to Myfitness and was wondering if anyone had any advice on what I can eat that is not meat, high in protein and low or no carbs? I do eat fish but canned tuna is getting boring.....thanks!

Jodi

Replies

• SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    Cheese of any kind is a good source as well as greek yogurt, sour cream, eggs etc.

Lots of stuff out there. Since it's getting nice I actually am back with my smoothies for breakfast so I rely on protein powder to get my morning protein in. Weider has 2 grams of carbs and 41 grams of protein for 50grams...and it goes well in my smoothie made of fruit, almond milk and cran/pom juice.
  • jodilynn783
    jodilynn783 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    Awesome. Thanks!
  • ana3067
    ana3067 Posts: 5,623 Member
    Options
    any non-meat source of protein is really just a source of fat with some protein in it, unless you just eat a lot of low- or no-fat versions of cheese and greek yogurt (which will have carbs). Or only egg whites.
  • jodilynn783
    Options
    I do eat fish. Which helps.
  • J72FIT
    J72FIT Posts: 5,948 Member
    Options
    Eggs, cottage cheese and yogurt...
  • jodilynn783
    Options
    I'm eating those now. Are there any vegetables that are high in protein and low in carbs? Seems like certain veggies are high in carbs. I was always under the impression that I could eat as many veggies as I wanted as long as I didn't add fats to them.
  • J72FIT
    J72FIT Posts: 5,948 Member
    Options
    What is the concern about adding fat?
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    Nuts. Nuts are high in protein and fat.

Higher protein grains:
    • Wheat Germ. 6 g per 1 oz. serving.
    • Soba Noodles. 12 g per 3 oz. serving.
    • Quinoa. 8 g per 1 cup serving.

tumblr_inline_miwvh9T5Cl1ralbh3.jpg

By comparison, tuna has over 25g of protein for a 3 oz serving.

Are eggs in? 13g in one egg.
  • arditarose