Calorie Counting Question

Replies

• whmscll
    whmscll Posts: 2,254 Member
    edited June 2015
    I set my goal to lose weight, currently at 203 with a goal weight of 175. I started at 214. My calorie goal per day is 2114. I eat around 1500 a day, I didn't realize this app already calculated the deficit. Can someone give more explanation as to how it works? Again, I'm new to this.

If you eat up to 2114 calories a day you should lose weight, as long as you were honest about your activity level. MFP does not count any exercise in your activity level, so even if you exercise every day but have a desk job your a activity level is sedentary, most likely. Assuming whatever numbers you plugged into MFP are accurate, if you eat more than 2114 calories a day, you will either lose more slowly, maintain, or gain, depending on how much you eat. If you are eating more calories than you need to live, i.e. your basic metabolic rate (BMR) you will gain weight (unless you are exercising). Go to www.scooby'sworkshop.com for a really good BMR calculator. Keep in mind that Scooby's calculator counts exercise into whatever activity level you set for yourself. MFP does not. With MFP you add any exercise you do to each day. With MFP, you can eat your 2114 calories a day and lose weight. If you exercise you will lose weight faster. You can also choose to "eat back" some of the calories you burned during exercise, if you are hungry or want a treat. However, know that almost all exercise calculators overestimate how many calories you burn while working out, so most people either don't eat back their exercise calories or eat back only a portion of them, typically 1/4 or 1/2.
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,562 Member
    whmscll wrote: »