Goodbye, Hamhocks!

half_moon
half_moon Posts: 807 Member
edited July 2015 in Success Stories
I am not at my goal by any means. I've been lifting weights (CrossFit) and eating right for two months and the scale didn't budge. I complained and turned to a lot of you for support and probably will do so again.

But today I am happy! The scale has moved a bit -- two pounds -- but my body is changing.

I've always had Hamhocks. Big. Jiggly. Calves. I carry most of my body weight in my hips and legs, so they were always the first to get bigger. I hated looking at them because my little ankles looked like they were whispering, "killll meeee" under the hamminess of the calves.

But today I looked down to see if I needed a shave (I didn't) and I realized my hand had to go further in to touch my leg. I looked closer and almost gasped out loud at my slender-looking calves. With a few wiggles of the toes, I saw muscles flexing and moving underneath the skin. Lines forming. I was in shock.

So here is to small successes like this! Goodbye, Hamhocks!

6qu95zpy0jmr.jpg

Replies

• MamaBirdBoss
    MamaBirdBoss Posts: 1,516 Member
    Very cool! Congrats!
  • LAT1963
    LAT1963 Posts: 1,375 Member
    woohoo!

The closer you are to a good weight, the harder it is to lose weight. It sounds like you are having some good changes in body composition though, which may be the harder thing to accomplish.
  • half_moon
    LAT1963 wrote: »
    woohoo!

The closer you are to a good weight, the harder it is to lose weight. It sounds like you are having some good changes in body composition though, which may be the harder thing to accomplish.

Hopefully so!! I would prefer it. I am 168 as of my last weigh in, but at 5'5" I should definitely be lower. But I ditched my scale two weeks ago and just weigh in once a week on the gym's scale. Screw the scale!
  • kittywrangler
    kittywrangler Posts: 81 Member
    nice legs!
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member