Study says restaurant meals are just as unhealthy as fast food

Options

Replies

• dogcatac
    dogcatac Posts: 124 Member
    Options
    allbarrett wrote: »
    dogcatac wrote: »
    hehe also, i'm a classically trained chef. i've worked in restaurants all of my life. so the food i prepare at home is just as luxurious as the food i prepare at my restaurants :smirk:

I like you. :) One of the reasons I go to restaurants is to try new things which I promptly turn around and try to replicate at home. I don't have the time or inclination to go back to school for cooking (though I think it would be fun), so I steal ideas from magazines, restaurants, online, etc. I love cooking!

tbh I think culinary school is kind of useless. it is sort of a foot in the door, but that's it. get a little notebook and make notes on recipes or your own creations. the strengths and weaknesses, the exact procedures you used, etc. that will really help you improve super fast. also, if you haven't already, learn how to bake. all cooks hate baking, but a chef who can bake is unstoppable! happy cooking :)

• senecarr
    senecarr Posts: 5,377 Member
    Options
    Umm, calories are unhealthy? Sodium is unhealthy? I'm pretty sure scientists wouldn't actually use that description.

And after looking at the study, I don't see the word "unhealthy" in there.

What a surprise that a media outlet would lie/sensationalize to get more hits. (But readers keep rewarding the behavior so they will continue to do it.)
    Wait, are you saying you've never read all the journals where the scientist pull out their health meters and directly read health? Usually they measure it in kale-Volts / twinkie.
  • SLLRunner
    SLLRunner Posts: 12,942 Member
    Options
    Why did they only check for fat as the only macronutrient? I thought carbs were the booman?

Because fat is still the devil. You know it makes you fat and eat more or something.

Tongue in cheek or serious? ;)