Maintaince question?

Replies

• jlewisrn74
    jlewisrn74 Posts: 94 Member
    I am 5'4 41 years old. Body fat when I had it measured before I started lifting constantly was 19. That's what I did at the gym with one of those hand held things. I'm not sure how accurate those are. Thank you all for your replies.
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,342 Member
    jlewisrn74 wrote: »
    I am 5'4 41 years old. Body fat when I had it measured before I started lifting constantly was 19. That's what I did at the gym with one of those hand held things. I'm not sure how accurate those are. Thank you all for your replies.

Then you can eat more than you think...I am as active as you are, a little older (46), shorter and maintain on 2200/lose eating anything less than that.
  • JoeCWV
    JoeCWV Posts: 213 Member
    You are maintaining. Right? You feel good. Right? You have energy. Right? If you answered yes to the previous questions you are doing it right. Don't worry so much about the numbers. If you are consuming more calories due to your miscalculations, so what. If you are actually eating at a slight deficit time will reveal that and you can up your intake.

This is not an exact science. I have been in maintenance almost 2 years after a 70 pound weight loss. The first year I maintained at the recommended MFP level. I sometimes ate back my exercise calories but not always. This summer I gained about five pounds. I lowered my calories a bit and got back to where I was; and am back where I want to be. I have never measured or weighted my food. I know the weight increase was due to portion control.

Instead of resorting to weighting and measuring I simply lowered my calories and it worked. I said all of this to say what I said at the beginning. If it's working don't mess with it.
  • jlewisrn74
    JoeCWV wrote: »