What counts as "calories out"?

Options
This questions probably been asked before, but as I'm having trouble pinpointing it I hope you don't mind my asking. I've read the posts that say weight loss is as simple as calories in, calories out, and that makes sense to me. My problem is the recommended calorie goal of, say, 2400 kcal I'm supposed to eat. On a good day, I'm burning 660 calories on a walk (I'm just starting out, so hopefully it'll get to be more the more I walk.) burning more than 2400 because that's walking over 4 times what I am now! I wish I could but right now I'm just trying to focus on getting 3 miles a day in in addition to college and spending time with my Grandma.
So is there something I'm missing here? Because I'm willing to do what it takes but I know I'm 'not supposed to' eat little enough to have more calories out then in.
Thanks for the help in advance.

Replies

• 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    Calories out include your BMR (basal metabolic rate) - that is what your body needs to survive, like if it were in a coma, all your daily activities, from walking to the car, brushing your teeth, sitting, and exercise.

660 calories for a walk is a huge number. That would be a long walk. I'm not sure if I am misreading but you wouldn't burn 600 calories for a 3 mile walk. Consider for a 150 lb person a 3 mile run would be about 300 calories.
  • maidentl
    maidentl Posts: 3,203 Member
    Options
    Your body burns calories just by being alive. Your exercise is in addition to that. :)
  • mgoddard1527
    mgoddard1527 Posts: 20 Member
    Options