Tried Squats now my hip aches

Options
I am new to this gym. Gf has been going for just over 6 months. She hates my home gym because it only has upper body related setup. I have used it for 2 decades lol. So I have never done much lower body exercise with weights before. All upper but I did run and play a lot of sports. I started at her gym cause I noticed she was making noticable changes and she been asking me to come out. Second week she insisted I try Squats. We both agree that I got much more upper body strength and should get my lower half to a stronger level. Then I started using the same weight as her after she starts me with the bar only and explained the technique. Appearently I was not bad with technique. Two sets of 10 reps with 95lbs but then could only manage 8 reps on the third (hey my first time at it). My upper hamstrings started tightening right up. I passed on the 4 and 5 sets. That night my right hip started aching. Woke me up from my sleep.
3 days later my hip is better but still aches somewhat. My hamstring tightness just recovering too. I went below parallel as told. Maybe a messed up my hip. I am over 50 years old so maybe I over did it for the first time experience. She is only 40 and been doing for 6 months so she is all gun ho on these. Whats going on at the hip area when you go that low? I wonder if I pulled something out of place or maybe just muscles used in a way never before. ? She wants me to try again after my hip is pain free. I tried the leg press and lunges with her a few days earlier and did not feel pain. I was not that stable at lunges though.

Replies

• Drewlssix
    Drewlssix Posts: 272 Member
    Options
    Possible to much weight. And 10x5 is pretty ambitious for someone who has not developed strength in the movement. I wouldn't be surprised you were very sore.