sweet tooth

Options
Hi I'm a newbie with a terrible sweet tooth has anyone any good ideas how I can curb this and not be ruled by chocolate pls feel free to add me need friends 4 encouragement and support :-)

Replies

• Mcoughlin20
    Mcoughlin20 Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    I need support too. Im a sugar junky and.need to stop. Add me
  • aimeerhiannon
    aimeerhiannon Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    omg I used to have the worst sweet tooth... actually I guess I still do, but I've cut back a lot in the last few years. This is how I did it, I gradually switched from eating milk chocolate to dark (50% cocoa, then 60%, now 75%), I started making my own sugar-free candies with gelatin, natural essences and stevia. If I feel like a dessert I have a low sugar/carb mug cake (there are tons of recipes online). I make my hot chocolates from scratch with unsweetened cocoa powder, hot water and stevia - I managed to cut down from the equivalent of 2-3 spoons of sweetener to just one or none. Also, on a hot day, instead of ice cream I get whipped sorbets, they have a similar texture to ice cream but can be 200 calories less than, say, a Magnum. I have to have something chocolate flavoured nearly every day but I try to make it healthy - e.g. I'll put a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder in a fruit smoothie or just have two squares of dark chocolate.
    I loooove sweets but I'm also a little obsessed with making healthy choices and I've found these to be a good compromise.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    I ate more chocolate while losing weight than I did while gaining. I find it much easier to fit into a deficit over chips/savory treats which I always preferred. Dark chocolate fits well, plus some of the substitutes are really yummy.
  • janjunie
    janjunie Posts: 1,200 Member
    Options