Why did you let yourself gain so much weight?

Options

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    i was always pretty active growing up and in my 20s...when i graduated college at 30 i took a desk job at a CPA firm and was pretty much working 10-12 hour days 6 days per week. i also bought a car, so i wasn't walking or riding my bike everywhere anymore. i didn't really make time for exercise, because other than playing sports when i was growing up, i never really "worked out"...i was just active. i put on 40-50 Lbs pretty easily over 8 years or so due to being way less active with no change in my dietary habits.
  • smotheredincheese
    smotheredincheese Posts: 559 Member
    Options
    I never really became fat - I just always was fat. A chubby kid turned in to a fat teenager and I thought I would never be able to change. A few people have mentioned having parents with restrictive attitudes to food, and I think that contributed to my weight problem hugely. I wasn't allowed treats at home very often so when they were available I would gorge myself, and when I got older would spend my lunch money on chocolate every day.
    I was very unhappy with my weight but bought in to the myth that it's near impossible for obese children to ever be a healthy weight, so let myself get bigger and bigger.
  • ald783
    ald783 Posts: 688 Member
    Options
    Because food is delicious and I was lazy.

Samesies
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Options
    Eating all day/night feels good, in a bad way, and too little excercise makes me lazy, and as my weight goes up I become more and more indifferent, and all I want/manage to do is eat. I got used to the new normal really fast. It's easy, and pleasant, if I don't think too much about it.