Montepulciano Posts: 845 Member
    Hornsby wrote: »
    Bought one. The next day my back looked like that
    <~~~

They are magic.

It was a fitbit or a magic wand, thanks for the empirical data! :D
  • aarar
    aarar Posts: 684 Member
    Sure it's a fad. Are people really going to be wearing them for the rest of their lives? Probably not, but really, who cares? It's a fad that gets people up and moving. It makes them aware of how sedentary they actually are and makes them want to do something about it. There is no way that's a bad thing.

I've been wearing mine for over 3 years now and it's turned my life around. I lost 100lbs and went from 2000 steps a day to over 20 000 (hey I've even gone over 100 000 in a day a couple of times). I used to tell people "I'm active enough chasing my kids around"; I was shocked to see that I actually wasn't. THIS is what motivated me to start running.
  • BLifts38
    BLifts38 Posts: 248 Member
    more steps = more calories burned...... so if someone is trying to lose weight, why is this an issue? I don't understand the OP's POV at all.
  • Hornsby
    Hornsby Posts: 10,322 Member
    Hornsby wrote: »
    Bought one. The next day my back looked like that
    <~~~

They are magic.

It was a fitbit or a magic wand, thanks for the empirical data! :D

You only get GAINZ with Garmins, dude. Fitbits are just glorified pedometers...no magic in those.
  • Wheelhouse15
    Wheelhouse15 Posts: 5,575 Member
    robertw486 wrote: »
    Really I somewhat agree with the OP. It's another thing that has become trendy again, and the next thing you know people attach all kinds of other things to it. I remember many years ago when a lot of people were getting pedometers of the old non connected type to do the same thing, and attaching the same values.