Keto - major TMI help

Options
So... I am new to keto, again. This isn't my first attempt, but I am currently on day 6. Cravings are gone, energy I'd the same, hunger diminished. Great, right?

So here's the kicker. Persistent diarrhea. Every day. Every time I eat. I eat mostly carnivorous diet as I find it works best for cravings, etc. I don't push extra fat. Just whatever is in the meat usually. Even something as benign as scrambled eggs sends me to the bathroom within an hour.

Is this just the adjustment period? Is this normal? This is usually when I give up because I am tired of it and quite frankly, my bottom is sore. Sorry for the long post. Any help or comments appreciated.

Replies

• queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    Why are doing a keto diet? Did your doctor tell you to eat this way? Having diarrhea is miserable.
  • jasperdog52554
    jasperdog52554 Posts: 115 Member
    Options
    I have major OE issues and find that I simply cannot do moderation. I am always hungry and all the logging is added stress. I have been on and off diets since childhood and find the simplest diet is the easiest. One cookie or donut will lead to 2, 5, who knows how many.
  • Gallowmere1984
    Gallowmere1984 Posts: 6,626 Member
    Options
    That's...not normal. Personally, I had the opposite problem until my body adjusted. Are you sure you haven't gotten ahold of some bad meat?
  • Psychgrrl
    Psychgrrl Posts: 3,177 Member
    Options
    Have you introduced a new food to your diet? Could it be an illness which has coincided with the start of keto, so it might not actually be the keto?

I'd go to the doctor. Severe, persistent diarrhea can lead to dehydration and electrolyte imbalance.
  • jasperdog52554
    Options
    I don't think I've had bad meat or eggs. I do have ibs and some issues with fodmaps . Also, I drink a lot of diet pop. Could the caffeine coupled with the higher fat diet be causing it?
  • beckadaisy