If it's all in the math, why did I gain?

Options
joowelz
joowelz Posts: 170 Member
edited November 2016 in Health and Weight Loss
I have been logging for almost two months and started seeing a steady weight loss of 0.5 lbs every week. Over the past two weeks due to my impending period, I had crazy cravings and overate a few times. On a good day, I keep my calories in the 1650-1780 range (with intense jogging for 30 minutes four times a week.) On the three days I seriously overate, I consumed between 2,000-2,600 calories.

My confusion is this: If those extra calories from overeating did not add up to 3,500 more calories per week to cause one pound of fat gain (or even 1700 calories to create a half a pound), why did I gain a pound?

If weekly weight loss comes down to creating a calorie deficit of 250-500 calories per day, shouldn't weight gain demand an equal formula of an additional 250-500 calories consumed per day, or a total of 1700-3500 extra calories consumed per week?

It was too easy to gain weight so I am confused. What would my maintenance mode caloric intake have to be then??

Know what I mean?

Thanks,
NK

Replies

• joowelz
    joowelz Posts: 170 Member
    Options
    @daniip_la But over a three week period? Doesn't water weight come and go for a maximum of a few days?
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Water weight
  • trigden1991
    trigden1991 Posts: 4,658 Member
    Options
    Water weight
  • annaskiski
    annaskiski Posts: 1,212 Member
    Options
    It does come down to math. The problem is your variables are fuzzy.
    Do you know exactly how much you ate? I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you weighed and measured everything and were at least close.