Keto/Ketosis Diet, just starting, looking for advice.

Options
If anyone has done the Keto thing, please share any tips you may have.

I've always had a very strict balance to my daily macro intake, and find it a little crazy looking when I see 75% fats / 20% protein / 5% carbs.

I'm just beginning and would love to hear from anyone that has experience with this already.

I've been intermittent fasting for a long time, mostly out of pure convenience in the morning, it seemed to slightly help with my body fat % but it didn't make a huge difference like some claim. I'm wondering if I should continue fasting in the mornings or if I should start eating breakfast.

What can I expect by entering into this crazy world of keto?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Replies

• kricard86
    kricard86 Posts: 50 Member
    edited November 2016
    Options
    I've done keto on and off for some time. First, warning, the carb flu. For about a week, I felt very lethargic and tired. I lost too much weight too fast. But I was not counting calories at the time. I noticed that the majority of foods I would flock to were very unhealthy, so I started eating more fish. My niece lost 40 lbs in a little over a month. Love the lifestyle but its so strict, I had a hard time staying on for long periods of time. As far as losing the weight, it comes right off...especially after the first week.
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    I would join the Low Carber Daily MFP group. http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/394-low-carber-daily-forum-the-lcd-group It's where most keto'ers hang out. There is a wide variety of eating styles in there too from vegetarian to carnivorous, as well as a variety of activity levels from bulking to endurance athletes to sedentary.