Do you care about your BMI?

Options

Replies

• Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 24,849 Member
    Options
    Do you care about your BMI?

Yes.

For me, it seems to be quite accurate ... it matches how I feel about myself.

And personally, I like being in the lower half of my normal BMI range. Right now, I'm right in the middle of that range, and I know I need to lose a little bit.
  • Machka9
    Options
    kshama2001 wrote: »
    @gabbyo23 What’s your frame size? http://www.myfooddiary.com/Resources/frame_size_calculator.asp

I have a large frame and the only time I've had a BMI as low as 24 was after 6 weeks of undereating and overexercising during boot camp. I have wide shoulders, big hands, big feet, and a big head and had to get my boots and hat from the men's side of the uniform room.

My goal is to get back into my skinny jeans from when I was a full time yoga teacher, which will have me at a Low Overweight BMI, and I'm ok with that.

That calculator drives me batty, because I have differing elbow breadth and wrist findings. If you look at me, it's all a puzzle. My hips are narrow (34"), but my shoulders are broad. I have no earthly idea what my frame size is. I have small hands and feet, and a narrow rib cage (I wear a 30" bra band). I'm going to go with small-ish frame size. I think.

Yes, my measurements confuse that calculator. :lol:

I have teensy-tiny wrists (and ankles) ... child-sized. But long limbs.

• Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,372 Member
    Options
    I care about it so my doctor leaves me alone. But yeah, if I get closer to the overweight BMI I'm too chubby for my taste.
  • Machka9
    Options
    According to the Asian BMI calculator:
    https://aadi.joslin.org/en/am-i-at-risk/asian-bmi-calculator

Your weight is within healthy range. Continue exercising and eating healthfully. :)

I wonder if there's one for people of Eastern European descent.
  • GottaBurnEmAll
    GottaBurnEmAll Posts: 7,722 Member
    Options
    Machka9 wrote: »