60K cycle with no training???

Options
amc2509
amc2509 Posts: 219 Member
Just realised that there is a cycle tour on this weekend locally with 60, 100 and 160K routes... I've been doing C25K since Feb and can run comfortably for 25 minutes. I've had a few spinning classes lately and I did take an 18K bike ride 2 weeks ago as the weather was nice. I did this comfortably in c.45 minutes.
Would it be crazy to sign up for the 60K without having done specific training? I've never done one of these before, but feel like it would be an achievement to complete it...

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    doable, probably...
    going to hurt, probably...
    going to lead to an injury, possibly...
  • amc2509
    amc2509 Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    Of course you are right! Never thought about injury... doing pretty good at the moment so not worth the risk... Think I'll work up to it and maybe do the route myself later in the summer to see how I go! Thx...
  • ladyreva78
    ladyreva78 Posts: 4,080 Member
    Options
    Is this an annual event? If yes, you could plan for it for next year, with a few test runs over the summer.

That would give you a pretty awesome goal to work towards :smile:
  • Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 25,208 Member
    Options
    doable, probably...
    going to hurt, probably...

This.
  • 35dollars
    35dollars Posts: 832 Member
    Options
    With no training, you're talking about at least 2½ hours in the saddle. It's doable, but you're not going to enjoy it much, particularly the next day or 2!
  • Machka9
    Options
    If you had signed up a 2 or 3 weeks ago, and had time to go for a 30 km ride or two ... you'd probably feel a whole lot more comfortable doing 60 km.
  • Wolfger
    Wolfger Posts: 350 Member
    Options
    You can probably do it, but you're probably (definitely) also going to learn the definition of "saddle sore" if you don't already know it.
  • NEMom80