For those who are going without sugar

Options
xfc1
xfc1 Posts: 69 Member
How long have you gone without it? Thanks.

Replies

• dreamwriter
    dreamwriter Posts: 610 Member
    Options
    I keep trying. I don't mind the sugar in fruits and vegetables. I've made my own bread a few times. I've also found some light rye bread made with no sugar. I am trying to go by the guide lines of "The Year of No Sugar".
    It is a difficult road.
  • Clo_Buffie
    Clo_Buffie Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    I have not dropped all sugar but I have cut this down to nothing over 10% in packaged foods. no sugar in tea/coffee but a small amount of honey.. and now it is no honey.. Hubby and I have been doing this for over 12 months. He has lost over 20 kgs from this alone...me?, well I am a women and apparently weight loss is different for me
  • PinkamenaD8
    PinkamenaD8 Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    Op must be talking about sugary products like candy, soda or pastries.

I eat almost all my sugar from fruits, with once a week exception of a candy or ice cream. I don't eat it too much, I crave more salty foods like pizza, hamburgers etc.
  • louisaguzman
    louisaguzman Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I'm a bit frustrated. It's been almost 4 months of no sugar: no breads (except Ezekiel which has no sugar), no pasta, no honey, no artificial sweeteners, no fruit, no cereal, and of course, no desserts). I've lost 30 lbs, which is fantastic. But I thought my cravings would go away. NOT a bit! I crave sugar every day and it makes me insane. Any thoughts?
  • toxikon
    toxikon Posts: 2,384 Member
    Options
    I try to avoid sugar when I can and treat it as a special treat. Maybe a cookie or two once a week. Otherwise, I prefer to use artificial sweeteners like erythritol and stevia. Erythritol is my favourite: it behaves just like sugar in recipes and it has no weird aftertaste and it doesn't have any nasty side effects. It's super awesome. I buy mine on Amazon.