Do you take supplements? And what would you recommend?

Options
I've been lifting for a few months (total newbie!) and my hubby (who has been lifting for years) keeps suggesting supplements to me. I know the word "supplements" encompasses a lot. I take a multivitamin and I have protein powder that I mostly use it for cooking since I don't usually have a problem getting enough protein in my normal diet. Do any of you take any other supplements and/or do you recommend any? My hubby keeps suggesting a pre-workout and creatine. I don't think I need anything but maybe I'm really missing out. What do you think?

Replies

• deputy_randolph
    deputy_randolph Posts: 940 Member
    Options
    creatine (for lifts), vitamin d (for deficiency), magnesium (for doms and sleep), curcumin (for inflammation)

I tried BCAAs; did not see a difference in performance.
  • cajunlass
    cajunlass Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I take a supplement that contains green tea and green coffee bean extracts. I do it for energy as I have to get up at 4am for work.
  • stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    Options
    Creatine brings a lot to the table
    So do Citrulline and Beta Alanine.

That being said... go to Examine.com to check for contraindications and possible benefits.
  • cosmonew
    cosmonew Posts: 514 Member
    Options
    I really like a preigniter to get my energy going. I usually have a whey protein after my workout and then take BCAA (Branch Chain amino Acids) for muscle recovery. I am also going to start taking Casein protein before bed. I don't think supplements are necessary..but if you can take them, I think they might aide in strength, gains and recovery.
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    I'm one of the last people to suggest or take any supplements, but even I take creatine.
  • CJ_Holmes
    CJ_Holmes Posts: 759 Member
    Options