Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Do you take supplements? And what would you recommend?

I've been lifting for a few months (total newbie!) and my hubby (who has been lifting for years) keeps suggesting supplements to me. I know the word "supplements" encompasses a lot. I take a multivitamin and I have protein powder that I mostly use it for cooking since I don't usually have a problem getting enough protein in my normal diet. Do any of you take any other supplements and/or do you recommend any? My hubby keeps suggesting a pre-workout and creatine. I don't think I need anything but maybe I'm really missing out. What do you think?

Replies

• deputy_randolph
    deputy_randolph Posts: 940 Member
    creatine (for lifts), vitamin d (for deficiency), magnesium (for doms and sleep), curcumin (for inflammation)

I tried BCAAs; did not see a difference in performance.
  • cajunlass
    cajunlass Posts: 2 Member
    I take a supplement that contains green tea and green coffee bean extracts. I do it for energy as I have to get up at 4am for work.
  • stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,727 Member
    Creatine brings a lot to the table
    So do Citrulline and Beta Alanine.

That being said... go to Examine.com to check for contraindications and possible benefits.
  • cosmonew
    cosmonew Posts: 513 Member
    I really like a preigniter to get my energy going. I usually have a whey protein after my workout and then take BCAA (Branch Chain amino Acids) for muscle recovery. I am also going to start taking Casein protein before bed. I don't think supplements are necessary..but if you can take them, I think they might aide in strength, gains and recovery.
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    I'm one of the last people to suggest or take any supplements, but even I take creatine.
  • CJ_Holmes