Is cardio necessary to lose weight?

Options
I've been working out for about 6 months. In the first three months I had been doing cardio (treadmill or C25K running program) in addition to various classes at the gym - most days I did 2 workouts, one cardio and one something else.
For the most recent three months the cardio has dropped off (slacker) but I still do at least one class at the gym (45-60min) per day.
The whole time I have tracked calorie intake (1200 cal target) and macros. In the first three months I lost about 12 pounds but I have not lost any more since then. Is the lack of cardio to blame? I'm just confused and could use some opinions. Thanks :)

Replies

• sardelsa
    sardelsa Posts: 9,812 Member
    Options
    Cardio is great for health, fitness and helping add to your calorie deficit. But no, it is not necessary to lose weight. Well you lowered your activity level and may not have adjusted your calories. Mind you since they are already at 1200 the lowest end, are you weighing all your food, all the time?
  • NorthCascades
    NorthCascades Posts: 10,970 Member
    Options
    No, but it's great for your health and well being.
  • DX2JX2
    DX2JX2 Posts: 1,921 Member
    Options
    Nope. Truthfully, the macros don't matter much for weight loss either.
  • gearhead426hemi
    gearhead426hemi Posts: 919 Member
    Options
    Just watching calorie intake and keeping your physical activity high is all you need. I like to mix my weight lifting and cardio together. Get my cardio and weight training done all at once. Have you tried doing super sets or giant sets? The weight will fly off and will throw your body for a loop. I have a friend that I am doing a diet/workout program with to help him lose weight. He picked the diet I pick the workouts. . Get creative with your workouts to keep your body guessing. Makes working out not to boring. Here is what we did yesterday

Giant sets with cardio
    SET 1

50 jump rope reps
    Bent over reverse fly