Is cardio necessary to lose weight?

Options

Replies

• sheepingly
    sheepingly Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    lk031 wrote: »
    I've been working out for about 6 months. In the first three months I had been doing cardio (treadmill or C25K running program) in addition to various classes at the gym - most days I did 2 workouts, one cardio and one something else.
    For the most recent three months the cardio has dropped off (slacker) but I still do at least one class at the gym (45-60min) per day.
    The whole time I have tracked calorie intake (1200 cal target) and macros. In the first three months I lost about 12 pounds but I have not lost any more since then. Is the lack of cardio to blame? I'm just confused and could use some opinions. Thanks :)

no. you can lift weights and lose weight. Weight loss technically has nothing to do with exercise. It is calories in vs out.

To lose weight you need to take in less calories than you burn.
  • sheepingly
    Options
    I've been working out for about 6 months. In the first three months I had been doing cardio (treadmill or C25K running program) in addition to various classes at the gym - most days I did 2 workouts, one cardio and one something else.
    For the most recent three months the cardio has dropped off (slacker) but I still do at least one class at the gym (45-60min) per day.
    The whole time I have tracked calorie intake (1200 cal target) and macros. In the first three months I lost about 12 pounds but I have not lost any more since then. Is the lack of cardio to blame? I'm just confused and could use some opinions. Thanks :)

You are probably plateauing. If you are working out more you need to eat more. Or have a refeed day or something to shock the system. Change up your workouts etc.
  • CharlieBeansmomTracey
    Options
    sheepingly wrote: »