Eating at gigs

Options
ttreit
ttreit Posts: 59 Member
edited November 2017 in Health and Weight Loss
TL;DR - eating healthy at gigs is not easy. Share your stories.

Anyone in the music/entertainment/live event business want to share their stories about eating on the road?

My experience:
I'm a live sound engineer and food is often part of my compensation. I work most Saturdays at a bar - at the bar they are very accommodating - I can order as much or as little food as I want and customize it any way I want the entire night. (I'm there from 7pm - 1am) Being on a tight budget it's a little hard to resist "free" delicious things like Irish Nachos and their 1/2 pound cheeseburger but so far I do ok there. I know what's on the menu and I plan my calories accordingly.

For other events I generally get to the venue several hours before the band and it's a lot of hard physical work loading in the PA. There's often very little time and you never know what gremlins are going to show up. So from the time I get there until after sound check I'm working pretty hard. Sometimes there's a break after sound check for me and sometimes there isn't. Then I'm running front of house and/or monitors. Then we're striking for the night.

Somewhere in there they usually feed the band and I take time to eat. Sometimes we get what the guests are having (score!) or sometimes they bring in pizza or sandwiches for the band. Thankfully there's usually plenty of bottled water along with the soda and lately La Croix drinks have been showing up too. If it's just sandwiches I'm usually fine, if it's pizza I eat more than I ought to. If it's a buffet of delicious guest food I try very hard to make good choices but inevitably eat more than I probably should. Calorie counting is hard because you don't know what's in anything and I don't have time to log individual items. I usually end up looking at my plate and assign it my best guess as far as calories go.