How to Cut Through the New Years Broscience

diannethegeek
diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
Broscience: snippets of information and technique passed from person to person in a gym or other setting, sometimes factual but usually not, often accompanied by no more proof than "well it worked for me" or "that guy is ripped, he must know what he's talking about."

The weight loss and fitness world is awash with bad information, and never moreso than at the first of the year. Everyone wants to tell you to do this or do that, buy these products, try these creams, and it is a minefield of information to sort through. Especially for those who haven't attempted this journey before.

I don't have all the answers. I'm not an expert. But I've been hanging around here for a while and maybe I've learned a few things that might help you sort through the good and the bad. Hopefully others will chime in with tips, tricks, and useful websites.

Cultivate sources - Learn who knows what they're talking about and who just wants to use you as a customer. Dr. Oz, most fitness magazines, bloggers, supplement companies, many nutritionists, and a lot of PTs fall into that latter category of people who are selling you something. That's not to say that everyone sucks, but be aware that in the fitness world most seem to. Find the people who know what they're talking about and stick with them. Don't trust Doctor So-and-So with that new book out now, Prevention Magazine, Buzzfeed, Livestrong, or that woman Brenda from accounting without doing some research first.