Rice substitute

Options
2»

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    kmeyer6979 wrote: »
    I see a lot of responses asking why...just looking for something that possibly have a little more nutritional value.. it’s ok if there really not anything else. I’m just not a food expert and figured I’d ask to explore the possibilities. I eat it everyday as part of my meals mixed with carrots broccoli and squash. Thanks for the input everyone!

Are you looking for another grain or a low calorie substitute? As grains go, you're not going to find a whole lot of variation between different ones...they're mostly starches which provide good energy. I eat a variety of grains...rice (white and brown), oats, quinoa, barley, farro, millet, etc. The difference in their nutritional profiles is fairly negligible...one might have slightly more fiber than another or slightly more protein than another, etc...but it's all pretty negligible.
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,996 Member
    Options
    Francl27 wrote: »
    brookielaw wrote: »
    If you're not trying to limit carbs, quinoa and couscous are great. I am one of those weirdos that has gotten so used to riced cauliflower that I don't care that it's just cauliflower pretending to be ricelike in texture.

It's not weird, it just tastes like cauliflower. I just can't really think of an instance in which I'd want it riced, instead of just chopped with other veggies, lol. Same with zucchini noodles, it won't taste different if it's just cooked in chunks.

Ya, I like cauliflower and just cook it like I would broccoli. I don't see the point in the extra chopping.
  • ahoy_m8
    ahoy_m8 Posts: 3,053 Member
    Options
    Love rice and measure it in the proportion that fits my needs for the day given everything else I'm eating.
    Quinoa has a slightly different nutrition profile and goes great with carrots, broccoli & squash.