Does exercises contribute to weight gain?

Options
preciousleks
preciousleks Posts: 213 Member
I have little knowledge about weight gain so I want to know.
when I started my weight gain last year in September, I was eating a calorie surplus and exercising, and I was gaining. But since the begging of this year I have not been exercising but am still gaining. so I was wondering is the exercise necessary for weight gain?

Replies

• tinkerbellang83
    tinkerbellang83 Posts: 9,130 Member
    Options
    Exercise burns calories so won't contribute to gaining weight directly.

Strength training is important for helping to maintain/build muscle when attempting to gain weight - as you will gain both fat and muscle but if you don't incorporate strength training and a reasonable protein intake, you'll be gaining more fat and no muscle, which given your previous threads I don't think you want to do.

• preciousleks
    Options

Strength training is important for helping to maintain/build muscle when attempting to gain weight - as you will gain both fat and muscle but if you don't incorporate strength training and a reasonable protein intake, you'll be gaining more fat and no muscle, which given your previous threads I don't think you want to do.

I was doing Squats, lunges, donkey kicks, hip thrust. Is that strength training or it just burns the calories?
  • tinkerbellang83
    tinkerbellang83 Posts: 9,130 Member
    edited April 2019
    Options

I was doing Squats, lunges, donkey kicks, hip thrust. Is that strength training or it just burns the calories?

Strength training, it still burns some calories, but not a lot. You would probably be better doing a constructed routine rather than just a couple of random exercises though.

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1
  • wheatbaby84
    wheatbaby84 Posts: 46 Member
    Options