Overweight and starting out - sharing my plans here as a commitment and for advice

Options
Me: 28 y.o, 6ft, 91kg / 200lbs. Work full-time + shift work so difficult to build routines.

Aim: I have a large build, so 80kg-ish. Ideally lose 1kg/week if I can.

Plan: Calorie-restriction (ie. cutting high sugar snacks mostly), using MFP, + hitting the gym 3-4 times / week.

Workouts: Using 5x5 Stronglifts 2-3x /week, and doing 5k on a treadmill 1-2x /week. This will mostly be after work or on a weekend.

Anyone got any suggestions or tweaks, or reckon I should just crack on a couple months and see how we go?!

Replies

• pileyrei
    pileyrei Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I’m no expert but that looks a good start. Just monitor your progress and adjust when needed. Rome wasn’t built in a day. It will take time. Good luck!
  • The0neWhoKnocks
    The0neWhoKnocks Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    AnnPT77 wrote: »
    If you only have around 11kg (24ish pounds) to get to a healthy weight at 80kg (176 pounds), a kilogram a week might be a bit on the aggressive side. You're pretty young, so perhaps quite physically resilient, but you still might want to consdier something like 0.5-0.75kg weekly initially, at least until you see how it's going. With relatively little body fat to lose (as compared to someone actually obese), losing a little more slowly might improve odds of keeping as much lean mass as possible while losing fat, as well as keeping energy level up.