Need some advice. (Progress pics)

Options
Hello! I’m new to the fitness community and I have been doing my best for about three months now. I first started with a cut due to be being “skinny fat”. I’m 5 feet 3 inches and I weigh about 103 to 104. I workout 5 days a week with a combo of cardio and weight training as best I can while I’m home. I really would like to eat at maintenance calories dues to family telling me that I’m getting to skinny. How would you go about maintaining weight but still putting on a little bit of muscleqx1r6nhg6ppt.jpeg
ej15cduas4sj.jpeg

Replies

• MaltedTea
    MaltedTea Posts: 6,286 Member
    Options
    Those abs? Chiseled. Great work on such a petite frame. I'm no expert but I'd say change up your training protocol (perhaps with the help of a coach if you're doing this for competition, modeling, etc) as well as look at protein intake.

You're at the point where you really gotta love getting in the weeds and being a bit particular about experimenting. As long as you're not obsessing or going full biohacker, you're good and your family needn't worry.

I'm a big fan of the SuppVersity blog and have mentioned it in MFP forum threads before. I'm bringing it up again because he has a whole "Build Muscle" section/tag which is full of evidence-based medicine. The focus is not only on supps, but training protocols (sometimes specifically geared to women) and other health-related things, like, umm, coffee!

Since this is research-based I wouldn't go back more than 5 years worth of blogs posts. Also, if you're not into all the deep science, he does a TLDR in navy blue for most posts.

In the meantime, keep killin' it.
  • cheyjanay44
    cheyjanay44 Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    Thank you so much!
  • MidlifeCrisisFitness
    MidlifeCrisisFitness Posts: 1,106 Member
    Options
    Do you know your BMR? Are you logging your food?

There is a maintenance thread. Search it.
  • cheyjanay44
    Options