Any supplements, etc. reccomended to help with intense muscle soreness (DOMS)?

Options
tiffany5839
tiffany5839 Posts: 104 Member
edited September 2022 in Fitness and Exercise
I have been working out for about 4 years now and I mostly do strength exercises with some cardio thrown in and lots of stretching/mobility stuff but I have always been a person to easily get sore from working out and have the worst delayed onset muscle soreness ever! It's been a thing my whole life and I feel like it would affect me much worse than my peers doing the same things as me. Anyway, it's really been bothering me lately extra bad to where my workouts are a struggle and I already take rest days, get enough sleep, eat a high protein diet and def eat more than enough so what gives? My friends all work out with me and do not get sore like this!

Is it just me feeling my age now of 40 or what or is something wrong with me? I feel like I'm having to foam roll and soak in salt baths all the time and stretch and my muscles feel like I never worked out in my life and it's ridiculous! I need to know what can help me with this horrible soreness all the time. I can take a week off but that's even worse cause then I'm REALLY sore like I'm new again to exercise when I come back! I can only take so many rest days to where I'm resting more than working out and I still have a good 10-15 lbs I want to lose. I've kept 70 lbs off and maintained for the last 2 years. I have friends older than me lifting heavier and they are nowhere near hurting like I am. I don't get it!
Tagged:

Replies

• Chef_Barbell
    Chef_Barbell Posts: 6,644 Member
    Options
    Magnesium and potassium have helped me with DOMS
  • tiffany5839
    Options
    I actually do take magnesium every day because of my migraines since it's supposed to help with that. I cannot take excess potassium though because I'm on a potassium-sparing drug and actually need to have that checked every 6 months to make sure it's not too high.