Camping Food...

Options
devilwhiterose
devilwhiterose Posts: 1,157 Member
It's my first time tent-camping and I'm not sure what to pack for food!

We'll have a grill, cast-iron skillet, and a cooler...

We're leaving Friday afternoon and will be home Sunday afternoon. Temperature's supposed to be around 88-high.

Do you think frozen hamburger patties would stay in a cooler of ice from Friday afternoon until Saturday for dinner?

Replies

• spade117
    spade117 Posts: 2,466 Member
    Options
    Do you think frozen hamburger patties would stay in a cooler of ice from Friday afternoon until Saturday for dinner?

Yes.
  • _crafty_
    _crafty_ Posts: 1,682 Member
    Options
    Temperature's supposed to be around 88-high.

go next month
  • CincyDave
    CincyDave Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    When I camp, my frozen burger do just fine in my cooler. But I have a pretty nice cooler that keeps stuff pretty cold. So i think it would depend on your cooler and how warm it is where you are camping.
  • crackur
    crackur Posts: 473 Member
    Options
    I'm more worried about how to keep the beer cold...and then I realize it won't last that long.
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,951 Member
    Options
    Good coolers will keep things good to go for almost up to a week if you put it together right.

I'm a big fan of grilling meats, catching some trout. Easy stuff.
  • CookNLift
    CookNLift Posts: 3,660 Member
    Options
    Bring a bow, some arrows, a knife, a bucket, and/or a gun. Fresh venison all weekend
  • ldrosophila
    ldrosophila Posts: 7,512 Member
    Options
    Yes, make sure it's loaded with ice and try to avoid opening and closing it too often keep it shaded. Fiance said if you can fit a block it'll last longer.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    Anything on the grill....
  • pawnstarNate
    pawnstarNate Posts: 1,728 Member
    Options
    Be careful where you leave the cooler.

Bear-with-Cooler.jpg