You reared your ugly face

Options
Dear month-long plateau - I wish you would take your ugly face elsewhere. I have business to get down to, and your killing my success!

I need ideas to kick this plateau. I have been about 197 for the last month (a little longer.) I tried increasing my calories because my BMR was calculated at 1710 (meaning before, I wasnt eating enough). I have eaten above my BMR for a few weeks now and simply maintained.

I burn 300-400 calories a day on cardio and circuit training. my body fat percentage went from 36.6% to 36.5%. That is frustrating as heck... HELP ME! I cant cut calories and drop below my BMR right? Because that will put my body into starvation mode?

I just need a few ideas... Because im going crazy trying to figure it out.

Replies

• rosemary98
    Options
    I am no expert in the fitness realm...but maybe not eat your exercise calories back. I heard they can be really inaccurate. be true to your diet...measure everything...all that stuff. above all, don't get discouraged. sorry, that is all I have.
  • tibby531
    tibby531 Posts: 717 Member
    Options
    I hit a plateau, took a three day vacation during which I ate everything in sight, came home, got back on the bandwagon, and switched from circuit training to jogging, and started losing again.

my advice: switch it up! give your body something new to adjust to. :)
  • HollisGrant
    HollisGrant Posts: 2,022 Member
    Options
    You're probably eating more calories than you think or overestimating your burn.

Weigh and measure everything.

Where are you getting the info for your exercise? Some of the entries in the MFP database are too high. Don't eat them all back, only if you are hungry.

Change your exercise. My body adapts to whatever I do over time.

Change your food. Try a protein shake if you don't usually eat them. Do something different.

Drink water!!
  • westendcurls
    westendcurls Posts: 252 Member
    Options