Debunking the Myth

Options
18910111214»

Replies

• pcastagner
    pcastagner Posts: 1,606 Member
    Options
    I hate the fact that increased strength does not mean increased muscle mass. I'll add my N=1 data. Started lifting in May @ 185 lbs and 15% BF (BodPod). So, around 157 lbs LBM. I have gone from a complete newb to 4 PR's:

Squat: 280 lbs
    Deadlift: 400 lbs
    Bench: 205 lbs
    Overhead Press: 125 lbs

The press work has not gone up as fast as the leg work due to shoulder issues, but those are done and the press work is accelerating quickly. I made all of that progress with no caloric surplus. And as it turns out, no additional LBM. My last BodPod indicated I still had 157 lbs LBM. At the same weight. Very, very frustrating. That's a lot of neuro adaptation, I guess.

So, I have found that I can get very strong and not add any LBM. Boo.

N=1.

Tom

Whoa! Idk though, do you look the same? I haven't made half your progress on strength but I'm definitely putting on some mass (eating for that purpose though).

I'm starting to think I got a ****ty genetic hand dealt to me. Or that I've personally pushed the limits of low strength:bodyweight for a healthy male.
  • Amadbro
    Amadbro Posts: 750 Member
    Options
    In for debunking studies conducted by top scientists of Harvard, Brown and Michigan state. This will be good. OP gonna make history!
  • shmoony
    shmoony Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    I'm back. So after a couple days of thought, two things occurred to me.

1) People who have been "bulking" by eating a surplus, lifting heavy and accepting the fact that they will likely add a lttle fat in the process are very threatened by the concept of gaining muscle while decreasing your BF%; hence the barrage of insults and accusations of blatent untruths. Why? Not sure, but it probably has something to do with thinking that the donut around their midsection is acceptable because they're "bulking".