Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

BMR/TDEE Question

Hi you guys, I've always just gone with the MFP settings on here to set my daily intake of calories, but 1,200 cals is not enough for me. Can somebody please explain to me the BMR and TDEE? Am I supposed to eat my BMR? More? Less? How does TDEE come in to play?

Replies

• obsidianwings
    obsidianwings Posts: 1,237 Member
    Most people suggest a 20% cut from TDEE. Don't eat under your bmr
  • noluckducky15
    noluckducky15 Posts: 54 Member
    I'm by no means a professional or an expert, but here's what I've learned about the magic numbers. BMR is your basal metabolic rate, its the rate your body burns in a day without any extra effort. This is the MINIMUM you should be eating in a day and you shouldn't go below this number. TDEE is your Total Daily Energy Expenditure, which is the amount you should eat to maintain your current weight. I eat at a number between the two, and the closer to your BMR you eat, the less you should lose.

Of course there are factors such as exercise, your job, your lifestyle...but I've always followed this and I've had a great amount of success so far. I've lost 72 lbs!
  • geebusuk
    geebusuk Posts: 3,348 Member
    Some people use BMR as a guide to not go below, but the figure alone isn't too important.

For weight loss TDEE is the important one. This is the total number of calories you burn in a day.

The difference between your TDD and the number of calories you eat is the approximate weight loss.

A 500 calorie difference is around 1lb weight loss a week.
  • Psychgrrl
    Psychgrrl Posts: 3,177 Member