I abandoned 1200 calories per day, and so should you

Options
1789101113»

Replies

• DAM5412
    DAM5412 Posts: 660 Member
    Options
    So, I'm one of those who has my calories set at 1200 for a 2lb/week loss. I've been doing it now for about 4 months.
    Everyone done hooting and hollering, sharing your opinions with me? K, good.

So. my reasons for this, is that I'm an overeater. I like food, and wine and ice cream. I needed to restrict my calories, learn portion control, try to eat better (less ice cream) and have food not be an issue to me. I know my calories are low. I know it's over 300 less than my "BMR" and I know, with my recent increased exercise, it's really low for my TDEE. So guess what, I don't always stick to it. And that's ok. Because it's not exact. What MFP tells me is my burned and consumed calories (Based on diet and exercise) are not 100% accurate. So I set my daily calories low, knowing I won't always hit that number.

See I don't know the calories in every bite of food I eat. I weigh and measure as much as possible, but I eat out fairly often. I eat at family member's houses, quite often. I go parties and I eat and drink what I want. Some days my calories are over 2000. Most days it's around my "target" of 1200. I always eat back my exercise calories. And when I'm hungry, I eat. And I log my food most days. I am learning to control more, eat more consciously and have treats.

Guess what, I've lost weight. Slow and steady, not 6 lbs of water weight, but about 1lb a week. I work out 4-6 days a week. I run now. I am starting to do more strength workouts. I feel good, strong and healthy.

This has worked for...ME. Not saying it would work for anyone else. But it does for me. And because I am making smarter food choices, 1200 calories is filling for my "daily' life. I eat well, and much more healthier. More fruit and vegetables, as much as possible. Healthier snacks. More protein, less carbs. It works for me.