How to eat before a 10K

Options
I will be running in a 10K on Saturday. I am hoping to make it the whole way through without walking. So far, my furthest distance is 4.7 miles. I have been running for a couple of months now and have worked my way up from about .5 mile running to this 4.7. My biggest problem is bonking out before I go as far as I want to go. I know it is a fuel issue, not a muscle exhaustion issue. My legs are not sore, but I just can't seem to keep moving. The last couple of long runs I have done I ate some yogurt before hand, and it seemed to help. However, I want to really push it Saturday. I always go further on race day (have done some 5ks before) than I normally do, but I need the right kind of energy. With that being said, can you runners please share with me some of the things you eat before a long run?
TIA

Replies

• ThickMcRunFast
    ThickMcRunFast Posts: 22,511 Member
    Options
    Sounds like an overall nutrition issue. Usually, a runner won't have to think about special nutritional need for a distance up to a half marathon. What is your intake like? If you opened your diary, I could give more specific advice, but here's some general stuff:

I wouldn't suggest eating anything different before your run (nothing new on race day), but increase your calories in the days leading up to the race. You'll want to keep your glycogen stores topped off.

Normally, I will eat a banana and some peanut butter or some toast about 2 hours before the race starts.
  • Eric_DeCastro
    Eric_DeCastro Posts: 767 Member
    Options
    if it were my 10K I would have a double meal replacement shake and maybe a banana. my races are usually in the morning.
  • _Zardoz_
    _Zardoz_ Posts: 3,987 Member
    Options