I have PCOS would love some support

Options
Hi,

I am new to PCOS and also to MFP but thought i'd give it a go. I am trying to lose weight because I was diagnosed with PCOS 2 weeks ago and been told I can't be put on medication until i've lost some weight.
I was wondering if there are any lovely ladies out there who have the same condition who can give me some moral support and maybe answer a few questions my doctors didnt answer? :)

Look forward to hearing back from you!

x

Replies

• Jodsmission
    Jodsmission Posts: 130 Member
    Options
    Okay ...here goes.
    A HUGE part of my weight gain came from the last two years of being sick. What used to be ovarian cysts every couple of months became ovarian cysts every month because I am getting older. It is horrible painful. Probably don't have to tell you. And as horrible as it sounds try to avoid the drugs they give you. All of those narcotics will make you gain weight. And to be honest they barely ever made a dent in the pain.So after 24,000 dollars in medical bills in 2 years and moments away from the hysterectomy I decided I quit. They really don't know how to help me and they will continue taking away my life in this process.
    So first I have two kids the whole PCOS have trouble getting pregnant did not apply to me.
    Second really take a look at vitamins and herbal supplements I find that DHEA daily decreases the pain and magnesium at night works just as well as all their pain killers.
    Avoid the Depo shot - what a nightmare - just google it and it didn't stop the cysts at all
    I swim . I find the water helps. I can't say my pain is gone but I am feel like I am more in control than I have been.
    My heart goes out to you good luck and I truly do feel your pain!!!!
  • mjohnson1966
    mjohnson1966 Posts: 3 Member
    Options