• Galatea_Stone
    Galatea_Stone Posts: 2,037 Member
    Options
    If I see an attractive woman, I start spotting her without being asked

That happened to me once. On squats. :sick:
  • saynay18
    saynay18 Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    A guy corrected my form at the gym and it annoyed me. I wasn't looking for advice, but I'm a novice. I know he was trying to be nice, but I just wanted to say "Who asked you?" I felt embarassed that he was helping me, ya know? IDK...just wouldn't suggest it unsolicited!
  • JTick
    JTick Posts: 2,131 Member
    Options
    No. You don't know her program, or if she's working out with an injury.

I had to ask for a spot on my bench last week, and was excited that I got 90x5. Because I'm doing 5/3/1, I won't try for 95 until the end of August. The lady was trying to be "helpful" and told me to try for 95 next week. NO. Because that's not how this program works!
  • ZoeLifts
    ZoeLifts Posts: 10,347 Member
    Options
    The only time I"ve ever said anything to someone is when they were on the leg press machine, had it loaded down with weights and were able to release the catch without having themselves set up and with their feet on the platform. Why? Because they were about to hurt themselves pretty bad and obviously didn't know how the machine actually worked. Other than that, I just let people be.
  • 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    I do appreciate advice from people who know what they are talking about and who's goals align with mine. The problem is, far too any people *think* they know what's right.
  • wibutterflymagic
    wibutterflymagic Posts: 788 Member
    Options
    If I really looked like I was lost I would appreciate the help. Most people have no clue what they are doing and are too afraid to ask for help and then quit. I think that goes double for many overweight women.
  • Stage14
    Stage14 Posts: 1,046 Member
    Options
    This is why I wear headphones at the gym.