cheat day / carrying calories

Options
I am new to this and just wanted some opinions. I've been seriously doing this for a week now and I've noticed this week I've had about 400 calories left over a day. I've done weight watchers and we had flex points where we could use them. Last night we had mexican and I'm sure you know what that entails...chips, cheese and drinks so I went over almost 1200 calories (that stuff adds up) but with all my left over calories during the week it evens out. Question is do any of you have a "cheat day" do any of you think calories carry over and you can bank calories for "cheat days" and still have positive results? I hope this makes sense

Replies

• ms_erica
    ms_erica Posts: 173 Member
    Options
    good question...im just curious as well
  • kao708
    kao708 Posts: 813 Member
    Options
    While MFP doesn't incorporate "roll over" calories, your weekly weight loss is going to be based on your weekly activity/calories. If you are over/under by a couple hundred calories now and then it should all wash out in the end. Just don't go to the extreme and only eat 200 calories one day so you can splurge another. Everything in moderation, right? :wink:

You can always work out a little more when you have eaten over your calories too. Good luck!

One other comment, I'm not sure what your daily goal is but make sure that you don't go way under it consistently. Your body needs a minimum number of calories to function eat day and continually eating below that is not good. Your body may start to retain the fat in an effort to fuel itself if it thinks you aren't going to feed it enough each day!
  • Halochic
    Halochic Posts: 12 Member
    Options